A Strange Encounter

A young man showed in at our Sunday School class yesterday. He was a friend of one of our members who guided him to our class based on his age. He was alone with no ring on his finger. I informed him that this was a married couples class, but he was welcome to join us. He indicated that he had a girlfriend, but she wasn’t with him.

As you can see in the notes posted earlier, we are discussing aspects of marriage and relationships in our class. The young man sat through about 10 minutes of the discussion on how to win an argument and then got up. He apologized, but said it was really uncomfortable being in there without his woman. He really wished she was there, but he didn’t think he could set through this discussion without her.

Apparently, they had been fighting that morning because he wanted her to go to church with him.

So he left the class, we all looked around at each other and shrugged, and went on. The class ended and as we were leaving, he showed back up; with the girlfriend in tow.

He had left to get her and wanted her to be there for the discussion. This poor girl did not want to be there! Class was over, but he asked if I could stay a little longer and talk with them. I said sure and the three of us sat down. He wanted me to go through the lesson again, trying to shove a copy of the notes in her hand as she adamantly ignored him.

Obviously, she had no interest in this. She was shell shocked at being drug into a church classroom in her tank top and shorts.  So we skipped the lesson. I just chatted with her a few minutes about our church and why a relationship with Christ is so valuable. We talked about how God’s principles are the key to working through the hard times in life.

The guy really wanted me to put the hard sell on her and try to get her “saved” right then. I don’t think he realizes that it doesn’t work that way. We chatted for a few more minutes, I thanked her for being willing to talk and hoped they would come back next week.

Today, I discovered that he is 22 years old. She is 32. They both seem to have a troubled past and a rocky relationship. I don’t want to judge him too harshly without knowing all the details, but he has a serious case of Oneitis. This girl is his whole world. They have a relationship built on inequalities and it creates constant struggles.

I think it is possible that she walked out on him after our Sunday meeting, he had some odd stuff posted on FB today. I’m trying to decide if this might not be best for him. He has some major issues he’s going to have to go through in order to be ready for a serious relationship.

I don’t know if I’ll ever hear from him again. I think I could help him if he is in a position to listen and learn, but I’m not very optimistic. I’ll be praying for the guy.

Leave a Reply

