I’ll be damned, I’m human after all.

If you take any of my writing at face value, you might get the impression that, in addition to being hung like a mule, I am 10 feet tall and bulletproof.

Just to clear up any confusion; I discovered this weekend that I am not bulletproof.

This weekend was a project weekend. I needed to install new flooring in the kitchen and dining room and replace a dishwasher. My wife took the kids to her parents to get them out of the house for the day.

Prep work started at 8:00 am. Moving some heavy furniture, removing baseboard, and cleaning all the crap that was piled up behind the refrigerator and in the coat closet. By 9:30, I was ready to lay the first board.

I’ll admit, my back was already getting sore.

My wife says I still look like I’m 19 years old. That’s cool. What would be even cooler is if I still felt 19. Maybe I do. If so, I’ve come to the conclusion that 19 year old me must have been too dumb to feel pain because his 36 year old look alike hurts like hell.

I wrapped it up at 10:30 pm. I still had some final touches to do today, but the floor was down. It took me 12 hours to install 320 square feet of laminate flooring. That equates to just over 26 feet per hour. That isn’t exactly a scorching pace. That’s more like a slow and steady pace. That should be almost relaxing.

Well, it wasn’t.

I barely made it out of bed this morning. My back and my legs hurt like hell.

But the floor looks awesome. My wife came home with this look in her eyes that said, “I’m gonna tear your clothes off as soon as your back quits hurting.”

I learned a lesson this weekend. Awesome has a price and inflation is rampant. The cost of physical exertion seems to be increasing at a rate of approximately 3.4% per year.

I’m not sure if that is compounding or not. It sure feels like it.

Okay, here’s the good news; the pain is temporary. The new floor is not. I will enjoy the work of my hands for many years to come.

At least I hope so, because I sure don’t want to go through this again anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

