There Is Ultimately Only One True Path To Awesomeness

Warning: the following post contains deeply sincere religious commentary. If that isn’t your thing, I dare you to keep reading anyway.

Our message here at the Big Dick Chronicles is simple; Go be awesome.

We can talk all day about learning to understand how to build responsive desire in your wife. We can discuss ways to build your self confidence until we are blue in the face. We can talk shop about fashion, exercise, or the importance of good friends and strong relationships.

But at the end of the day, there is another relationship this is absolutely essential to leading the most fulfilling life possible.

And that is a relationship with Jesus Christ.

When it comes to the existence of God, I could offer you a whole host of arguments. We could discuss how the concept of the Big Bang pre-supposes infinity while simultaneously claiming infinity does not exist.

We could discuss how the concept of an absolute moral law requires a moral law giver who supersedes man. We could go all day about the existence of Evil and if Evil exists, Good must exist and there must be an ultimate Good.

But none of that is the important part.

After all my research and efforts to confirm what I believe to be true, it really comes down to a single point of fact.

1st Corinthians chapter 15:14, in discussing the resurrection of Christ states “And if Christ has not been raised, our preaching is useless and so is your faith”.

Take a moment to consider that statement. The whole of Christianity rests on a single historical fact; the bodily resurrection of Christ. If the resurrection of Christ was not an actual event, then the Bible instructs us to disregard everything else in the book as a fraud. The entire Christian religion comes with a self imposed caveat. How bad ass is that?

If there is no resurrection of Christ, then I have no arguments for you. I have no defense for my faith. I willingly concede all points to you. It no longer matters if our world requires a creator or if there is an ultimate source of truth. The entire exercise is futile if there is no resurrection of Christ.

But if it is true…it changes everything.

I need you to understand something about me. Either God is real, or I am one of luckiest paranoid delusionals you will ever encounter. By my own admission, I tell you that most of the major decisions in my life have been made because of the voice in my head.

That’s right. God speaks and I try to listen. That’s how I chose my wife. It’s how I chose my career. It’s how I decided where to go to college. Most of my major life choices had no basis in logic or any other reasonable explanation I can offer  And yet they worked.  Better than I ever could have imagined.

Why in the world would I put myself at the mercy of a voice in my head? Because the Bible makes it clear that God has a path for me, a best choice for how to live my life. I don’t have to choose it, but it seems quite obvious that there is no better place to be than on the path that the Lord of the universe himself has laid out for me.

Do I always get it right? Hell no.

There are two aspects to getting it right; being holy (staying away from the bad stuff) and being obedient (following directions and doing the good stuff). Obviously, we should strive for both, but if I had to choose one, I choose obedience. I would rather get to the end of my life and know that I said “yes Lord” every time he asked me to act, even if I get my hands a bit dirty along the way.

I prefer that to the idea that I kept all the rules, but never once lifted a finger to act when He told me to.

In fact, I’m writing this post because God told me to. I don’t know if he just wanted to test me and see if I would obey, knowing it is a bit uncomfortable of a topic, or if someone is going to read this and experience a life altering change. The why isn’t important to me. I’ll do it just to be obedient.

And this is the whole conclusion of the matter;
There is a heaven and the only way to get there is to believe in your heart and confess with you mouth that Jesus Christ is Lord.

But it’s about more than just the end of the road. The road that leads to Heaven is a rewarding path to travel. I cannot begin to imagine what a mess I would have made of my life without the direction that God has given me.

We are coming up on the Christmas season. A Charlie Brown Christmas Special has been replaced by live footage of the trampling herds at Target on Black Friday. It’s easy to lose track of the significance of this holiday season.

If there is something intangible missing from your life, if you don’t know what it feels like to wake up every morning knowing that the God of the Universe is there to greet you, I ask you to try something.

Take a moment to read the Christmas story in Luke Chapter 2. Consider in your heart if you think there is any truth to what you read. Consider if this needs to be part of your path.

I don’t really expect much response to this post. You know the topics we cover here; I’m not a judgmental guy. But I would be remiss if I didn’t share with you the most important part of my life.

God bless.

2 thoughts on “There Is Ultimately Only One True Path To Awesomeness

  1. Pingback: Sunday School Notes: The Timing Of The Coming Of Christ | The Big Dick Chronicles

Leave a Reply

